Research Scholar Awards

The AUA offers a portfolio of mentored research training awards to recruit outstanding young investigators into urologic research and foster their career success.

The Research Scholar Program, our premier funding opportunity, provides $40,000 per year for one- and two-year mentored training for:

  • Clinical and postdoctoral fellows who are no more than five years beyond completing a doctorate or residency
  • Early career investigators who are in the first five years after beginning a faculty position

The 2022 competition is now closed. Please check back in summer 2022 for next year's competition.

Download the Program Announcement and Application Agreement

2022 Research Scholar Awards are sponsored by:

  • AUA Northeastern Section (two awards)
  • AUA North Central Section (two awards)
  • AUA Southeastern Section (two award)
  • AUA Western Section (two awards)
  • Bristol Myers Squibb, Inc.
  • Endourological Society
  • Endourological Society Raju Thomas, MD Award
  • Indian American Urological Association Anupam Ted Kedia Award
  • Indian American Urological Association Sakti Das, MD Award
  • Chesapeake Urology Associates Sanford J. Siegel, MD Prostate Cancer Award
  • Sexual Medicine Society of North America
  • Societies for Pediatric Urology Sushil Lacy, MD Award
  • Society of Urodynamics, Female Pelvic Medicine and Urogenital Reconstruction Hari Badlani Award
  • Society of Urologic Oncology


View the listing of our recent Research Scholar Awards Recipients:
2022 - 2024, 2022 - 20232021 – 2023, 2021 – 2022, 2020 – 2022