AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award

The AUA Residents and Fellows Committee Teaching Award annually recognizes an outstanding urology educator or program director who has dedicated a portion of their career to teaching residents.

Gina M. Badalato, MD – 2022 Teaching Award Winner

Assistant Clinical Professor of Urology and Associate Residency Program Director
NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center

“At Columbia, Dr. Badalato is the driving force for resident education. Her passion as a resident advocate and mentor [stands] out. Incredibly selfless, humble, and enthusiastic, Dr. Badalato is an exceptional physician and role model, always putting the needs of her patients and residents above herself.”
– Miyad Movassaghi, MD
PGY-4, Columbia University Irving Medical Center

“Dr. Badalato is an exemplary educator and has been instrumental in teaching residents and medical students, both at Columbia and nationwide. She has shared her knowledge and expertise with other institutions through her work on the AUA Medical Student Curriculum, ACGME Urology Milestones, SAU Virtual Subinternship Guidebook, and – most recently – the EMPIRE online lecture series. Dr. Badalato is an incredible asset to our department and to the academic urology community. She is very much deserving of this recognition.”
– James M. McKiernan, MD
John K. Lattimer Professor and Chairman, Columbia University Irving Medical Center Department of Urology

Dr. Gina M. Badalato's clinical practice focuses on voiding dysfunction and general urology. She has a special interest in medical education and serves as the director of all medical student clerkships in urology at Columbia Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons; she is also the associate program director for the NYP-Columbia residency program.


Eligible nominees must meet the following requirements:

  • Participation as a program director of and/or faculty member in an ACGME accredited urology residency program.
  • Evidence of dedication and effectiveness in teaching residents.
  • Behaviors which are value-based and highly principled.
  • An exemplary role model.

Winners are presented with their award during the annual Residents Forum program at the AUA Annual Meeting.

The Teaching Award nomination cycle is now closed. Please check back in Fall 2022 for the 2023 submission guidelines.

If you have questions or would like more information, please contact

Past Year Winners

See a list of past Resident and Fellows Committee Teaching Award winners